Home

“In the space between chaos and shape there was another chance.” – Jeanette Winterson.

He said he was getting a new coffee maker. I was little -at the age where I had an attachment to my dad’s coffee maker and bathrobe and slippers. They were a part of him. I didn’t understand why he wouldn’t let me keep them forever when he was ready to upgrade.

He found the old yellow coffee maker in the bottom of my closet a few days later.

I never was very good with change.


  1. Inertia is the resistance of any physical object to any change in its state of motion, including changes to its speed and direction. It is the tendency of objects to keep moving in a straight line at constant velocity.

Transitioning is a place that I find uncomfortable. Mornings are the epitome of mental struggles: clothed to naked. Dry to wet. Wet to dry. Naked to clothed. Do I have to get in the shower becomes do I have to leave the shower?

There’s a momentum to letting things be the way they are that is comfortable. But the discomfort of pulling away and digging your heels in the dirt to come to a stop, leads to a life of intention instead of a life of ‘well, things just sort of happened.’

There’s a difference in the feeling of earning the outcome of a lifespan, or just absorbing the outcome of a lifespan. We beat inertia when we can look at objects critically and know when to let go to keep mental and physical clutter from keeping new opportunities out. Also, looking at relationships and friendships critically and knowing when to let go or make changes, and looking careers, school, and housing choices critically and knowing when to make adjustments.

When we feel the pull of the current of ‘I could make a change, but this is the way it’s always been,’ it’s the opportunity to remap those patterns. It’s the chance to anchor the boat, sit down with the map, and decide where you’ll leave your wake.


“It matters not how straight the gate, how charged with punishments the scroll. I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.” – William Ernest Henley. 

Leave a Reply

