Home

“It’s now very common to hear people say, ‘I’m rather offended by that.’ As if that gives them certain rights. It’s actually nothing more … than a whine. ‘I find that offensive.’ It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. ‘I am offended by that.’ Well, so fucking what.” – Stephen Fry. 

This generation exhausts me. To the core of my being, I find most things I see or hear to be fundamentally draining.

We’ve brought ourselves into a state of oppression and ignorance, birthed from a desire to remove oppression and ignorance.


This post was uploaded and promptly deleted last night. I wanted time to make sure I communicate properly my thoughts on such a delicate topic.

I’m concerned about some ways that we have gotten off track in society. There is a fundamental lack of critical thinking in our interactions with eachother. We need to develop the ability to talk about topics we don’t like, from viewpoints we don’t agree with, in a logical, linear, manner. It develops understanding between groups and can prevent resentment, miscommunication, and mistrust. It also allows us to actually address issues at hand instead of acting out of emotion and fear based thinking: what if I offend them/they offended me/I don’t know if I can ask that/they shouldn’t ask me that etc.

The first half of this clip from Bill Maher addresses this, calling us a ‘pussy generation.’

I don’t know what the solution is. I don’t know where we begin to contribute to progress instead of shutting down topics because we are scared of labelling, or being labelled, or in some way offending some group of people. I do know that this is a topic I will bring up again this year, hopefully with more insight.

We need to mature. We aren’t kids anymore. We are the adults who are shaping the way countries and religions and cultures interact across years of ideological divides. Is this the best we can do?


“Those who are most sensitive about “politically incorrect” terminology are not the average black ghetto-dweller, Asian immigrant, abused woman or disabled person, but a minority of activists, many of whom do not even belong to any “oppressed” group but come from privileged strata of society.”  – Theodore KaczynskiIndustrial Society and Its Future

2 thoughts on “01.08.15 The ‘O’ Word

Leave a Reply

